Darwin Blog


Over the Long Weekend…
Monday, 28 April, 2008, 6:14 am
Filed under: Observations

 

Australia has just spent the weekend remembering the efforts of those who have served and died in the armed services, providing this country with amazing freedoms and national pride.

After watching a delayed broadcast of a number of dawn services and the broadcast of the Anzac Day March in Darwin on Friday, I thought Saturday would provide an opportunity to get out an about for the morning.

I made a visit to the Parap Markets to find it quite busy with heaps of stalls and variety.  I popped into some of my favourite stores, Chocolate Orange and Paraphernalia.

Chocolate Orange has loads of stock and I am pleased to say some new stuff, but there is still stock in there since the day it opened.  Paraphernalia is the same.  I love their jewellery and tend to always buy a piece when I visit this shop, which is starting to become an expensive habit.  Just be wary of some of the pieces, because you will find them elsewhere in Darwin and cheaper.

The stall i normally buy something to eat from wasn’t there, so I decided to buy some take-a-way from the new indian restauarnt, Saffron.  it is great that Saffron opens a take-a-way counter during the markets as they are the only Indian food on offer.  I choose some Rogan Josh and Aloo Matar Rasedar (potato and pea curry) with a couple of rotis.  The cost was $13.50 and was enough for lunch and dinner.

The taste of the food was excellent and I would like to return to the restaurant for a meal at a later date, just to see if the quality is maintained.  I have heard a number of mixed reviews about the restaurant.  As a person with some Indian heritage, I think I am a reasonably good judge of Indian food.

Many have commented on the fact that the restaurant doesn’t use plates, but plates made from recycled product.  Reason being a shortage of people to wash dishes and perhaps their carbon footprint.  It is all the buzz right now.  Irony being is that they used the plastic take-a-way containers for take-a-ways!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

