Darwin Blog


J.M Top Optical
Saturday, 8 March, 2008, 3:09 pm
Filed under: Best Kept Secrets - Bali

jm-top-optical.jpg

When in Bali in February, we went to Carrefours to do some shopping.  After going through the check out, I noticed an optical store opposite.  They had a sale on and I started looking at the frames.

Adrian, who works in the store advised that I could get a pair of prescription glasses, which I so seriously wear (I am blind without) for IDR Rp 375 000 (AUS $46).

There were so many frames to choose from and I settled on the first ones I saw – red.  The same ones are about $300 in Australia.  Honestly, they had all the brands and so much choice, more than what we get here in Darwin with the couple of optical stores we have here.

As I had no idea what my script was, he check the glasses I was wearing to see if they had what I needed in stock.  They did and guess what?  My new glasses could be ready in 20 minutes, if we wanted to get something to eat and come back.  That is exactly what we did.

The glasses are fantastic.  They were properly fitted and have caused no grief – the script is spot on.  On top of it, I have had so many compliments about them, that I am so seriously thinking of going back and getting a few other colours!

So tell me, why in Darwin does it cost so much and it takes two weeks for your glasses to be made up and why do they have to hold onto the script.  Yes, this shop wrote down my script for me in case I wanted to have glasses made up somewhere else.

By the way, they can do bi-focals but will need two days.  This is still quicker than the two weeks we have to wait here.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi – They are quite expensive here too. Some places can do them with an hours wait but having tried those just once and finding that they weren’t spot on it put me off. What I find so sad is the fact that it’s possible to buy reading glasses in all the modern styles for as little as £1.45 here. This really means that the frames can’t truly be that expensive to manufacture can they? Before I go, may I say what a lovely blog you have.

Comment by Kloggers

Hi, I don’t know why glasses are so expensive here in Australia. I lived in Jakarta for 2 years and they were just like Bali – quick and much cheaper….(much cheaper). I think we are just getting ripped off here.

Comment by jack

This is amazing, I don¡¯t know what else to say. Perfect execution of a cool idea!

Comment by free norton antivirus download

Take a trip to bali, have your eyesight checked and buy new glasses, also make an appointment with the dentist have him check your teeth. So much cheaper here. One crown IDR1.000.000 =A$ 110.00

Comment by jogrybali

Thanks for that will do!
Any Dentist reccomendations ..?
Cheers Jan

Comment by Janeece Walmsley

Did they offer checking your eyes to figure out prescription as I need my eyes checked too? Thanks

Comment by Leanna

Hi we are thinking about travelling to Bali, my daughter would like to find material for outdoor cushions for by the pool, also daybed covers. Would also like to know where to get good quality shoes made up. Could you advise where to go. We think we would stay in Seminyak. Thanyou Lilly

Comment by Lilly




Leave a Reply

