Darwin Blog


Coffee Fiends
Thursday, 6 December, 2007, 12:19 am
Filed under: Observations

This morning I decided to pop into the Laneway Cafe to get some fruit toast for breakfast.  Their fruit toast is by far the best in town, thick and buttery.

What I noticed driving down Mitchell Street and from going to and from the car, is how many people in Darwin are into the styrofoam cup, cafe bought coffees. 

We look like a mini New York with everyone racing to the office with their cups of coffees, some of them giant sized.

So when did we get too posh for the office coffee?  I guess we can thank the influence of Starbucks worldwide and maybe, Hollywood.  Whilst we don’t have Starbucks in Darwin, we do have the Coffee Club, BB’s, Gloria Jeans and many little cafes that are peddling takeaway coffee.

Honestly, I think it is all a bit wanky.

Are people in that much of a hurry in the mornings that they don’t have time for a quiet cuppa before leaving the house?  Is it that hard to have a plunger/ percolated coffee in the office?  Or do we have that much of a disposable income that we can afford from $4 to $10 a day on coffees?

I am not a big coffee drinker and when I do, I am quite fussy.  I have bought an excellent, quality plunger coffee at the supermarket and a Bodum One Cup Coffee Brewer, so that when I do feel like a coffee – pronto.  Okay I have to wash a couple of bits and pieces, but really it is no trouble.  And the coffee, the taste and temperature is perfect.

I was reading an article, online I think, that stated that bosses are wising up to the fact how much time is being spent out of the office and in lines at cafes waiting to purchase coffee.  Some of the bigger companies have done the sums and have estimated how much time and productivity is being lost.  Therefore, they are now spending big dollars to have coffee machines installed in offices.

Will this make people change their coffee drinking habits?  Perhaps.  I know if Government workers in Darwin were able to get something for free, they would be in on it, in a flash.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It’s funny – Starbucks has literally taken over here in the States. It’s almost, I would say, the McDonald’s of the coffee world. Maybe it has something to do with having someone else make something for you – like when you try to make a dish your mom made for you as a child – it never tastes as good unless its made by your mom. Does that make sense? Anyway – I liked your post!!

Comment by Kate




Leave a Reply

