Darwin Blog


blend & grind
Thursday, 22 November, 2007, 12:00 pm
Filed under: Best Kept Secrets - Darwin, Dining

blendandgrind.jpg

Today I was craving an apple turnover and one with a lot of cream.  I think it was brought on by working on an intense document that was going to have me feel like Dilbert by the end of the day.

I could have gone to Ben’s around the corner, but it was hot and required a short walk in the sun – not today.  But across the road from where I work and a shot walk through a dingy arcade, I come to blend & grind.  In fact, these guys are in the shop front that Ben’s Bakehouse used to occupy.

As I said, I was craving an apple turnover, there was none.  So I thought I would go for my old favourite, a vanilla slice – there was none.  A bit like “the computer says no“!  I wasn’t really keen on anything else until I sighted the creamy, delicious looking matchstick.

$3 and a quick walk back to the office and I devoured the matchstick.  Needed a spoon to eat the cream that oozed out onto the packet.  It was truly delicious and one of the best matchsticks I have had in a very long time and it cured my craving.

What I am worried about, is making my way back tomorrow for another!  If you are in the Anthony Plaza, try one.  They also have pies and sausage rolls, as well as, fresh juices.  Reasonable prices.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Coming from out in the ‘bush’ THE best and ONLY home made pies and pastries, along with cakes and biscuits, i have ever experienced !!!! WELL DONE, Blend and Grind ! Aijou

Comment by Aijou




Leave a Reply

