Darwin Blog


Bistecca alta pizzaiola with crispy potatoes
Sunday, 5 August, 2007, 11:23 am
Filed under: Observations

100_0105.jpg

The weekends for me are always about cooking great meals.  Meals that are shared with the family or a group of close friends.  This weekend, being a long one in Darwin (Monday is Picnic Day and known for the running of the Darwin Cup (horse racing)), we made a decision as a family to spend the whole weekend at home pottering around and taking time out to rest.

So last night I cooked, Bistecca alta pizzaiola with crispy potatoes, from Bill Granger’s book, simply bill.  I love Bill’s style of cooking – simple, with fresh produce and not time consuming.  In fact, I have three of his cookbooks and have made many meals from his recipes.  The verdict on last night’s dinner – superb, even if I say so myself.  I always get even more inspired for the weekend by watching Bill’s show on the Lifestyle Channel the night before.  For some of his recipes – http://www.lifestylechannel.com.au/shows/show.asp?id=18.

Speaking of food, cooking and Bill’s.  Earlier this year I went to Sydney for four days of gourmet eating and dining.  We covered off Bambini Trust Cafe, BBQ King in Chinatown, Tetsuyas, Bill’s, Marque, Icebergs, China Doll, Macro, the Lindt Cafe and the Tea Room at the top of the Quuen Victoria Building to mention a few.  It was a fabulous weekend, with food and service experiences beyond my expectations and time to do some things I haven’t had a chance to do when in Sydney previously.

Apart from falling in love with Sydney, that place seduces you and ones wallet, I also managed to do some serious shopping, spend time at the Powerhouse (although it wasn’t enough) walk from Bill’s to Mao and More and discover treats along the way including Vampt, retro ‘n’ deco vintage collection and have some very interesting taxi rides.  I seemed to know how to get back to the penthouse apartment that we were staying in at St Leonards, better than most taxi drivers and I was only there for four days!

I will pen a number of entries about our experiences, the restaurants and what I love about Sydney over the coming weeks.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth was a enjoyment account it.

Look complicated to more brought agreeable from you!
However, how can we keep up a correspondence?

Comment by Tyree




Leave a Reply

