Darwin Blog


The Last Day of the Mid Year School Holidays
Tuesday, 24 July, 2007, 4:39 am
Filed under: Observations

Today is the last day of the mid-year school holidays here in the Northern Territory.  Our child has spent four weeks at home in our company and really, it hasn’t been all that bad!

I am home today with husband and child, just pottering around and being a family.  My son is enjoying playing a number of play acting games, my husband is also blogging and playing around with the computer and I am, after this blog, hanging out some washing, doing some tidying up and I think I will finally set up my home office, so the laptop does not live on the dining table any more.

Whilst we are not doing anything in particular or special, there is some comfort in us just being home and hanging together, I guess it is the comfort of knowing that each of us are around but not in each others face.

Today also marks that it is eight weeks until we fly out of Darwin on our long vacation break for the year.  We will be tripping around south-east Asia and I can’t wait to enjoy the food, different culture and the shopping.  What holiday is complete without shopping?  I will have some more exciting places to recommend upon our return.

Until then, I still have many more in my archives for just Darwin and I have some more that cover off Bali and Sydney and perhaps some other places.

So today will be uncomplicated and relaxed as our child builds his own momentum for returning to school.  I think he will be glad for some company in his own age group.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

