Darwin Blog


KABUKI HAIRCUTTERS
Monday, 16 July, 2007, 12:45 pm
Filed under: Best Kept Secrets - Darwin

kabuki.jpg

After many years of using the same hairdresser, I was forced due to illness to find someone new.

I am vain about my hair.  It is short, I do not use product and I do not own a hair dryer.  Basically, if it is cut well, I should be able to wash and wear.  Therefore, moving to a new hairdresser did not come without its reservations.

I have known and watched the rise and rise of Teresa, who is the owner of Kabuki and she is one impressive, confident young lady.  She has her head screwed on.  She also cuts a number of my girlfriend’s hair and they look very smart and chic.  The cuts themselves are works of art for the precision.

So I guess deciding where to go was simple, but getting used to someone new may be a little of a struggle.  Why? I am a reasonably private person so talking about myself and what I plan to do on the weekend is quite out there for me, in a public domain like a hair salon.

I was impressed that Teresa was running to schedule and not only did she cut my hair, she also washed it herself instead of having a limp wristed apprentice do it.  She washes hair really well and gives the scalpt a great work out and massage.  She cut my hair so well, that it is a wash and wear cut.  I have had many comments about my hair and how good it looks – the same happened with my previous hairdresser, who is one of the best cutters I have ever known.

The best thing was that I was in and out within the hour – how could you ask for anything better than that and I was able to get an appointment in advance at the time and day I choose.

By the way, the salon is quite funky and has one of my favourite designers featured, Florence Broadhurst.  The salon is bright, with huge windows that bring the outside in and the way the chairs are set up provide excellent people watching opportunities.

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great! But how much did it cost?

Comment by Jo

Hi Jo

My apologies, I forgot to mention that it cost $75 for a style cut. I don’t do colour, for no other reason that I have been there and done that and I just think I’m not patient enough to sit in the chair for long periods of time.

Comment by Miranda

DON’T EVER GO TO THIS HAIRDRESSER! THEIR STAFF HAS CHANGED AND THEY ARE USELESS AND ARROGANT TO BOOT (LIKE MOST RETAIL/SERVICE PEOPLE IN DARWIN THEY THINK THEY ARE DOING YOU A FAVOUR BY SERVING YOU). I WENT IN TO GET MY HAIR LIGHTENED AND CAME OUT WITH ORANGE HAIR AND DARK ROOTS. A ‘HAIRCUT’, COSTING $85, WHETHER I GOT THE BLOWDRY OR NOT WAS $85! THE ENTIRE THING COST $250 AND FOUR HOURS OF MY LIFE. BETTER TO GO TO THE SUPERMARKET, GET SOME EL CHEAPO COLOUR AND THEN TO JUST-CUTS FOR A HAIR CUT WITHOUT ALL THE PRETENSIONS.
GOOD LUCK FINDING ANYTHING THAT’S GOOD VALUE IN DARWIN. THE PLACE IS AN OVERRATED RIP OFF, LIKE MOST OF THE TERRITORY FULL OF DRUNKS AND LOSERS.

Comment by ELIZA HANSON

Hi Eliza

I am sorry you feel this way about Darwin and the people that choose to live here.

With regard to Kabuki, did you contact the salon or Theresa, the owner, to express your concerns? Theresa runs a good business and is always concerned about the service her clients receive and will certainly rectify a mishap.

Unfortunately Darwin isn’t the only place with a bad attitude towards service, In recent times I have experienced this in Sydney and Kuala Lumpur – so I guess perhaps people and their perceptions are changing world-wide!

It is such a pity you see Darwin as being full of drunks and losers.

Comment by Miranda

a pity i’m stuck here a year later! hair update: three weeks after i got my hair done at the s*^&%&$ KABUKI it FELL OUT. REPEAT: fell out. in great big handfuls. i have heard recently that this happened to two other people who got their hair dyed at this place. I like florence broadhurst too… but i’d rather have my hair.

Comment by eliza hanson

I’ve been to Kabuki for cut and colour, it was quite good but expensive.

I’ve also been to Vanity at Parap – DON’T EVER GO THERE – outdated equipment, more expensive than Kabuki (the colour alone for short hair – $200!), instant coffee and THE WORST cut and colour I’ve ever had – in Brisbane, Adelaide, Alice Springs or Darwin.

I now see Leigh (or Lee?) at Scalpt on Cavenagh. Have seen her a few times, she listens carefully to what you want and is very relaxed and friendly (stylish without being pretentious). And they make good coffee. Costs $160 for foils and cut, a bit less than Kabuki and better in my opinion.

Comment by Ishka

I love Kabuki. I have never found them to be pretentious or unfriendly and have been going there for the past 2 years for both cut and colour. It’s pricey – but good haircutters always are.

Comment by Tessa

I go to Kabuki in Darwin, I even suggest Kabuki to other girl friends… They all continue to go as well… and make a point of how good their hair is compared to “life before Kabuki”…

It’s hard to find somewhere like Kabuki in a place like Darwin. The best haircutters I have found in my 5 years of living here!

I (and the other girls) feel amazing after walking out of the salon, hair is always in excellent condition… THE BEST CUT, THE BEST PRODUCT, THE BEST EQUIPMENT, THE BEST SERVICE – I for one have found these haircutters to be the ONLY ones in Darwin that are willing to have a free-flow conversation with their clients!

KEEP IT UP KABUKI…

Comment by Jacqui

Hi Girls! Just to let you know that I jumped on the net tonight to search for hair that has completely snapped off at scalp. Yes I have blonde hair, Yes i have been blonding for 25 years now, I use all the most expensive products and always have. i hate to tell you this but I have gone to Kabuki the last 2 hair colours and my hair has snapped at roots on crown and i have a full mohawk along with long straight hair down near my backside. Its a fantastic look. Not! I am very very unhappy as I moved to Darwin in November and have had 2 colours and cut. The 1st time was a complete bugger up and they had to recolour my regrowth on the same day. 5 hours in the hairdressers and my hair snapped on final wash. The hairdresser had the audacity to say “oh, your hair is breaking, best you use treatments for this”. I treat my hair twice a week with redken protein and butter treatments each week. I have never had broken or snapped hair in 25 years! I have just jumped out of shower tonight after washing my hair and wella, huge patch of hair broke off. I had my regrowth done at Kabuki 1 1/2 weeks ago! My natural hair colour is dark brown similar to Demi Moore’s. Breaking hair like this is not normal, regardless of what the hairdresser tells you. Like I said, I have been colouring for 25 years and never had this happen to me before. I am paying the equivalent for a colour and cut (Yes around $250 + per visit) to my hairdressers in Paddington NSW and South Mebourne VIC when I was living in those States. Although Teresa is lovely and knows my name in full, I cant bring myself to go back, not after tonight. Sporting a bigger mowhawk than last month! I will have to use my husbands wax to smooth it down just to go to work. Seriously, not happy Jan!

Comment by Michelle

Kabuki Adelaide over bleached my hair so badly it was banded with yellow & they offered me not even a treatment, they got $130.00 from me & I will never go back they use Keune colours good but very cheap & the skills of the hairdressers was appauling.

Comment by Bethany

dont know what these people are talking about– i’ve never had anything but INCREDIBLE experiences! i would recommend this salon to anyone!

Comment by cheerupcharlie

if you like try Friends Hair salon at Gray shops on essington avenue, find out for yourself

Comment by cherrie

Hi and welcome to Darwin,
My Name is Kerri and I am new to Kabuki, So if you’re looking for a new look or a low maintenance style and open to suggestions we would love to help. Keeping in mind our passion for our work and customer service so Jump on Kabuki web site and check it out or come in to meet the team of stylists.

Comment by kerri

I have been going to Kabuki (for cut and colour) since the salon opened on Mitchell Street some 10 years ago. The service has always been exceptional and the one time i had a concern re colour, it was fixed immediately. The staff have always been professional and very competent and it is very clear that they get excellent and ongoing training.

Comment by Ellie

It’s hard to find educated people on this subject, however, you sound
like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Comment by Benito

Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came
to check it out. I’m
definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to
my followers! Fantastic blog and excell ent style and design.

Comment by Edgar

Alan is lovely but I had the worst cut I’ve ever experienced last week. I left with an uneven and poorly styled cut when all I simply wanted was a trim and a blow wave. Instead of a beautiful blow wave I received a flat ironed mess of a hair cut. Extremely overpriced also. Luckily I was flying interstate for the weekend and managed to have my usual hairdressser fix the mess.

Comment by Sally




Leave a Reply

