Darwin Blog


Secret Womens’ Business
Sunday, 8 July, 2007, 1:52 am
Filed under: Observations

Speaking of social gatherings during the Dry, a girlfriend organised a Saturday afternoon at her place where her girlfriends, minus husbands, partners and children came together for champagne, nibbles and chatting.

The soiree started at 1pm and having not been to her place before, I knew the area she lived but not the house – she wasn’t answering her mobile, which to me signalled that the soiree was well underway.

So I rang a girlfriend’s house who was going and her husband tried to find the address – his advice, drive slowly with the windows down and you will hear them – his advice so totally worked.

So I found the girls, got a drink and settled into an afternoon of meeting loads of new people, hearing great stories and catching up with a couple of girlfriends who were there.  I so thought I would have only been there for a couple of hours, but no, I was there for quite a while.

Our host has entered the “hostess with the mostest” category with her organisation, supberb food and great range of drinks – I even discovered a new champagne to enjoy during the day – yes, I drink different things at different times of the day – weird I know.  Our host also made sure that all afternoon, we had a full glass.  A partner in crime even made a caramel apple schnapps for us to enjoy which I think, was probably the last thing I drank.

I came home extremely merry with Red Rooster in hand, as there was absolutely no way I was cooking for the boys after such a wonderful relaxing afternoon – why spoil the momentum.  I did sleep well last night!

I think this needs to be an annual event!  Funnily enough – we have a few of those such as my husband’s birthday, which is coming up in a couple of weeks.  Planning is underway!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

