Darwin Blog


Go Red for Women Cocktail Party
Sunday, 17 June, 2007, 12:35 pm
Filed under: Observations

A couple of weeks ago, I received an invitation from a female friend of mine to join her and her partner at this function.

As I had made a decision to support a number of other charities this year, I accepted.  I was quite looking forward to going, until that minute prior to arriving at the venue wondering if I actually dressed appropriately for the event.  The invitation stipulated that you must wear a touch of red.  Well I did that.  I wore red three quarter pants, red jewellery and a red handbag.  Once I arrived and saw that women from all walks of life interpreted a splash of red in 130 different ways, I was no longer worried.

The group of women I was with were most entertaining and we had a great night meeting each other, swapping stories and experiences and before we realised it, it was 11.45pm.

Now before I go on, I need to mention that the event was a fundraiser for and organised by the Heart Foundation.  It was held at the Darwin Sailing Club and they had about 130 women present, with a couple of boys scattered amongst the crowd.

I wasn’t aware of this fact prior to receiving the invitation, but heart disease is the leading cause of death for Australian women.

The night was cool, the organisers did not appear flustered, except for during the drawing of the prizes and we didn’t have to wait long for the drinks.  Each ticket was also a voucher for four cocktails.  The cocktails were pre-mixed and honestly, tasted somewhat plastic.  The mocktail was the best.  The champagne ran out way to early – but these days one can’t drink and drink!  The sushi was great, but simply there just wasn’t enough food – we ended up buying many packets of chips from the bar.

A highlight of the night was a small band called Pia Colanda, who were actually performing for someones 40th.  They rocked and in fact, we asked the birthday girl if she minded if we moved closer to her party and danced to the band.  In true Territory style – it was more than okay.  Everyone had a dance and the night rocked.

I encourage the Heart Foundation to build on this event.  It was great to see such a great age range of women present, all having a great night out.  Small things can be improved, but I can see this becoming a “can’t be missed do!”.  Well done.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

