Darwin Blog


Darwin’s Seafood Festival
Sunday, 17 June, 2007, 12:11 pm
Filed under: Observations

dsc00144.jpg

Today we went to the Seafood Festival at Fisherman’s Wharf.  I think this event has been running for a couple of years, but it was our first time.

I really wanted to go because Ian “Huey” Hewitson was doing a cooking demonstration.  I love his style of cooking – simple and uncomplicated, but also because I am a firm believer of “never trust a skinny cook!”.  Therefore, I am confident with what Huey cooks and suggests.  I also love his honest and robust personality.

As for food, I am allergic to fish, but tried some calamari and it was good.  But to be honest, I wasn’t real hungry at that point.  I was very focused on getting a good seat for the cooking demonstration.  Unfortunately, there was just simply not enough shade – it is Darwin and the dry season – you think that might have been the most important thing on organisers’ minds.  Hence, we are a little red, but it doesn’t hurt and I can still go to work tomorrow!

Pictured is Huey (on the right) with Sky News’ John Mangos.  My husband and I noticed John wandering down the wharf and I made it my husband’s mission to get a good picture of him for the blog!  An opportunity presented itself when John stood near my husband on a quiet portion of the wharf.  My husband asked his permission to take his photo as “my wife is a huge fan and used to watch you all the time with Graham Kennedy on Coast to Coast“.  Next thing my husband knew was John Mangos saying “is she here and let me meet her“.

I was not expecting to meet John Mangos and when he turned up next to me I was so surprised I didn’t know what to say and we talked about the weather – how pathetic.  He was so lovely and interested in talking to me and looking into my face, probably wondering why I couldn’t string a sentence together!

What I really wanted to say was that I was a great fan of his and Graham Kennedy, especially from watching Coast to Coast.  I wanted to say “magnum“!  Yes, just that word as it was a bit on a “in” joke on the show.  I wanted to say that I enjoyed the piece about him and his family in Good Taste magazine a couple of month’s ago.  I also wanted to say that we watch him daily on Sky News and I really like it when he and Suzanne Latimore co-host – but it was not to be.  I feel quite stupid!

I did want to have a photo with Huey, but couldn’t bring myself to do it, as I felt I might be seen as a bit of a celebrity stalker!  There is another story!  One day I will share – let me say, it involves Jon Sieben!

I was glad I went.  My only suggestions for the day is more shade, heaps more.  Did I mention the shade!  As for the cooking demonstrations, if this will continue for the coming years – it is imperative that a mirror is placed above the chef’s table or it be filmed live and broadcast to large screens.  If I had more time, I would have definitely gone on a harbour cruise and I would have loved to stay and listen to Bombe ala Ska – I love ska music and I have never heard it played in Darwin, so I was curious.

Unfortunately, there are only two days on the weekend and so much to fit in, especially during the Dry.  I had to go and be a domestic goddess for the remainder of the day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

