Darwin Blog


The House of Pearls
Friday, 4 May, 2007, 2:34 pm
Filed under: Best Kept Secrets - Darwin

houseofpearls.jpg

Looking for beautiful pearl jewellery without the big price tag?  Lucy can help you and she has just opened another shopfront in Knuckey Street.  Love the furniture that the jewellery is displayed on and it too, is also for sale.  Lucy also has a stall at the Parap markets.

I have a few pieces that I have bought from her over the years and I think they are of exceptional quality.  Lucy also re-threads pieces, if you have any pearl jewellery that falls apart and for a modest fee.

She has so many different designs, pearl sizes, designs and price range, that I am sure there would be something for anybody.  There are a few tacky pieces, but look beyond those on the tables when you walk in the store and look at the great stuff in the cabinets.  The prices aren’t too bad, but if you want to pick up a good bargain – wait till Lucy has one of her great sales.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The couple of times I have been to Darwin I have bought an item from this shop. The last visit I purchased a Stingray Fashion Watch, two days later it fell off my hand. When I got back to Melbourne I was advised by Lucy that it wasn’t really their problem and they couldn’t guarantee that they could do anything to rectify the problem except send it back to the manufacturer. I explained that it was the clasp that was the problem and was told they couldn’t do anything about it.

So it got to the point that I was scared to wear the watch. I took it to a jeweller in Melbourne and was advised the watch that stopped even working had missing parts to it and that the clasp was insufficient for the weight of the watch. They recommended I send it back. I sent it back to the House of Pearls and was told the warranty is only 6 months and so it is now out of warranty and I would have to bear the costs for them to send it back to the manufacturer. When I asked for a quote I was told they couldn’t give me one. Then I asked where was it manufactured and was told OVERSEAS. So I asked who the Manufacturer was and they couldn’t tell me. This watch was sold to us for $275, hence a total waste of money. I only got the chance to wear it a couple of times.

We are often in Darwin and will never shop at The House of Pearls again and I recommend people stay clear of them. They advertise that they are cheap, the problem is they sell cheap crap – we would have been better going to the markets. They are rip off merchants that bring their watches in from overseas advertising a sale price of $500 but on sale for $275. More than likely the watch itself was only worth a couple of dollars.

Comment by Maz French

This is the perfect web site for everyone who hopes to find out about this topic.
You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been written about for years. Excellent stuff, just great!

Comment by stores.ebay.co.uk

Dear Ms Maz French,

Your statement is full of falsehoods and is misconstrued.

The facts of the matter you are referring to are:

• On 15 September 2012, after long and careful selection, you purchased a fashion watch with a stingray skin band from us.

•The watch you purchased had a 6-month warranty

• In your blog, you begin with that “when I got back to Melbourne, I was advised by Lucy it wasn’t really their problem….” I do not recall that I spoke with to you. In fact, I was not even in Darwin during that period.

• On 26 June 2013, some 9 months later, you sent the watch to us with a letter stating that the watch clasp was not strong enough. You also advised that you had taken the watch to a jeweller, and that the jeweller advised you that there was a part missing in the watch.

• Our staff confirmed with you that your warranty expired in March 2013. At the same time, our staff advised you that we could send it back to the manufactory and there would be a postage charge. You did not want to pay for the postage and threatened our staff that you would expose us on social media, which you have subsequently carried out.

• Further, under the terms of the manufacturer’s warranty, the warranty is void if the goods have been tampered with by an unauthorized third party. To have your watch attended to by an unauthorized jeweller would invalidate the warranty even if your warranty had not expired.

• Our staff also confirmed with me that the condition of your watch when they viewed it in June was that of a watch that had been frequently worn; the side of the watch face had been chipped and there were scratch marks on the edges. Our staff advised that your watch looked much worse than my 20-year old watch that I have worn virtually every day for the past 20 years.

• It is unreasonable for a prudent person to believe that a watch with a part missing could be used regularly for 9 months.

• You refer yourself as a “frequently” traveller to Darwin. Our records do not show you are a frequently customer. It is clear we have different understanding of a “frequent” patron.

• Your statement on “rip of merchants that bring their watches in from overseas … and more than likely the watch itself was only worth a couple of dollars” is completely baseless. First of all, more than 90% of Australian shops sell imported watches. The watch industry is not a main stream Australian industry and therefore most of the watches sold in Australia are imported. Secondly, I am not sure how often you travel overseas, where you travel to or where you conduct your shopping, but we have never come across a watch that is for sale at a couple of dollars.

• On 27 August 2013, nearly 8 weeks after you have posted a defamatory blog, a man showed up at our shop with your watch and requesting us to act in “good faith”; at the same time he threatened us with every possible avenue he could think of, including “exposing us through legal action”!

Under the circumstances, I believe there is nothing that we can do to assist you. Neither you nor that man are welcome to our shop. We will share this incident with other shops in Darwin, so they can be prepared for your “frequent” visits.

Yours sincerely,
Lucy Zhao
The House of Pearls

Comment by Lucy Zhao

Be careful when you buy something as if in a display cabinet saying 50% off . That is not correct . I had put it on hold and ordered 2 black necklaces to be made .
Went back in the morning to confirm Lucy husband confirmed that Lucy will call me . She said price wrong husband make mistake . I said okay don’t want it then . When I returned to pick up the necklace .
She was not apologetic at all I blame husband I need to train him all over again !!!! Very rude an very aggressive I said you are falsely advertising that cabinet says everything I’m here 50 % off price marked so price was $380 now would be $190.00 . No no no she said . Big mistake I said certainly is I would take it out of the cabinet . No no no . I said you are wrong and I will tell people how you have responded as if I had bought it yesterday I would have paid $190.00.
Lucy you were very rude and shouted out I don’t care what you tell people .
I have already told a few people about your practices . I feel I need an apology for your bad behaviour and your attitude . Obviosly your customer service is lacking . . I feel very sorry for your husband who you denigrated to me . Who does that .? Just read another feed back which was not nice . So people in Darwin stay away from House of Pearls . Lucy not very nice .
When I

Comment by Susan van noort

Dear Susan,

In the retail business, once a while, there are customers who have unrealistic expectations and occasionally, throw tantrums when they do not get their way.

The truth of this matter was that there had been a misunderstanding regarding if the 50% off discount sign applies to the original price or an already reduced price marked on a red sticker. I rang you on the morning of 4 July 2017 and offered the following clarifications.

•The 50% off applies to the original price that is attached to the jewellery.
• For this particular jewellery that you wish to purchase, the original price is $880.
• However, we have decided to mark it down further than 50% off, and it is for sale at $380 as marked on a red sticker.
• The price $380 on the red sticker is the current sales price.
• I apologised for any misunderstanding.

You then advised that you do not want the jewellery if you cannot buy it for $190. In other words, you offered to buy it at a further 50% reduction on already significantly reduced price $380. I advised that we could not to sell it at $190.

Subsequently, you came into the shop in the afternoon. Once again, I explained the above in detailed. But you insisted that I should sell it to you at $190 and told me that I was wrong for not to selling it to you at $190. You threatened to tell “a few people in Darwin”. I replied that it does not matter who you wish to tell, but I could not sell it to you at $190.

I trust that the above facts provide further clarifications. And once again, I apologise for the misunderstanding caused.

Kind regards,
Lucy Zhao
The House Of Pearls

Comment by Lucy Zhao

Dear Susan,

In the retail business, once a while, there are customers who have unrealistic expectations and occasionally, throw tantrums when they do not get their way.

The truth of this matter was that there had been a misunderstanding regarding if the 50% off discount sign applies to the original price or an already reduced price marked on a red sticker. I rang you on the morning of 4 July 2017 and offered the following clarifications.

•The 50% off applies to the original price that is attached to the jewellery.
• For this particular jewellery that you wish to purchase, the original price is $880.
• However, we have decided to mark it down further than 50% off, and it is for sale at $380 as marked on a red sticker.
• The price $380 on the red sticker is the current sales price.
• I apologised for any misunderstanding.

You then advised that you do not want the jewellery if you cannot buy it for $190. In other words, you offered to buy it at a further 50% reduction on already significantly reduced price $380. I advised that we could not to sell it at $190.

Subsequently, you came into the shop in the afternoon. Once again, I explained the above in detailed. But you insisted that I should sell it to you at $190 and told me that I was wrong for not to selling it to you at $190. You threatened to tell “a few people in Darwin”. I replied that it does not matter who you wish to tell, but I could not sell it to you at $190.

I trust that the above facts provide further clarifications. And once again, I apologise for the misunderstanding caused.

Kind regards,
Lucy Zhao
The House Of Pearls

Comment by Lucy Zhao




Leave a Reply

