Darwin Blog


Alice Springs – More Recommendations
Friday, 20 April, 2007, 11:39 am
Filed under: Best Kept Secrets - Alice Springs

Sorry, I don’t have business cards for these shops but do recommend them. 

Novita Gifts – in the Alice Springs Mall – is one of the best gifts shops in the Territory and there is a great price range.  Takes a while to go through the shop as there is so much to look at and take in.  I always find amazing gifts in this shop for people and always get comments on where did I find it! 

Swank Shoes– Yerrepenye Shopping Centre – this is the flagship store and has a slightly different range to Darwin and a much bigger range of handbags and accessories than what they have in Darwin and I always buy something here when I go to Alice.  In fact every woman I know and many others I see, from Darwin, always find time to drop into this store when in Alice Springs for work and many are seen carting a Swank Shoes bag onto the plane home.

 There is a clothing store opposite Swank Shoes, can’t remember the name but I find good buys in there from time to time. Gondwana Gallery – Alice Springs Mall – used to have two galleries, was my favourite for a long time as I have bought art, ceramics and some amazing jewellery from here.  They have changed direction a lot, but when I was there last year, I still managed to buy some jewellery from there and is always worth checking out. Oscars – great place to eat opposite Alice Plaza 

Hanuman– Crowne Plaza – better in Alice Springs than in Darwin.  If you ever have the chance, eat here and skip the restaurant in Darwin.  The Darwin one is overrated.

 Bluegrass Restaurant – yummy food, great atmosphere for dinner and the menu is to die for. 

Piccolo Puccini– Italian café in an arcade that I think has Sussans in the front of it.  I always have a bowl of pasta here for lunch when in Alice – there is a dress shop and a gift shop down this arcade worth having a look at.

When next in Alice Springs, I hope you enjoy your visit and perhaps these recommendations will assist.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment




Leave a Reply

