Darwin Blog


Mbantua Gallery
Tuesday, 17 April, 2007, 11:29 am
Filed under: Best Kept Secrets - Alice Springs

mbantua.jpg

I really like this gallery as it is big and there is space to look, admire and appreciate the work on display.  The artworks come in all different sizes and prices, making sure there is something for everyone who walks in through their doors.

I don’t usually like traditional Aboriginal artwork, I tend to like more contemporary pieces (i.e Sally Morgan) and proudly own a reasonably unique Hermannsburg pot (which has toured the country) and and a beautiful lino print by Connie Lang entitled Wild Bush Flowers (in the right place at the right time).

When I was last in Alice Springs, I went into Mbantua and saw and fell in love with three pieces, all dot paintings.  The size was perfect to take on board the plane as hand luggage and the store wrapped everything for travelling.

The paintings were about the wet season and for some reason they resonated with me, as it reminded me of the view outside my bedroom window in the wet season.  They now hang proudly as a feature artwork at the end of my hallway.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

