Darwin Blog


Learning Indonesian
Tuesday, 27 March, 2007, 8:08 am
Filed under: Observations

With our recent discovery of Bali – we only decided to go there after the bombings, as we were looking for a cheap holiday close by without relatives that could also handle a toddler – I have decided to learn Indonesian.

Hence, I signed up at Casuarina Night College for a semester of beginners Indonesian at the beginning of this year.  I also signed the lad up with the Open Learning Centre and he too, is learning to speak Indonesian.

 I have done a number of courses at Casuarina and am always impressed at how organised and friendly they are.  It is good value and the teachers are marvellous.  i totally recommend attending this institution – they have a huge diversity of courses on offer.

I wondered how I would go, as the lesson is for two and a half hours on a Monday night, but surprisingly I am going okay and loving it.  We are learning heaps and the best thing is the lad and I are learning the same things, so we practise together.  I always remind him that soon, we will be able to have whole conversations without his father knowing what we are talking about!

The plan is that I will have enough conversationalist Indonesian for when we return to Bali in September this year (our fifth trip in three years).  The best thing is we are learning to shop and bargain in the native tongue and what is a holiday, if it doesn’t include shopping – especially for me.

 And what motivated me?  We are seriously thinking of spending my long service leave living in Bali just to expose our son to a different way of life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

