Darwin Blog


Parap Markets
Saturday, 24 March, 2007, 2:11 pm
Filed under: Observations

So, today my family and I decided to go to the Parap markets for something different to do on a Saturday morning!  I normally go on my own, as my husband normally laments about the parking and the crowds and my son goes on and on about wanting food and a drink.

 I mainly go to the markets to buyflowers, fruit and vegetables and of course, have something to eat.  I kinda of like the bohemian feel of the markets, but I am not big on ferals!

Although I did buy flowers, got some fruit and fed the anklebiter, we thought we would take the opportunity to look around.  I have a few favourite shops.

 Paraphernalia – this shop as heaps of great stuff.  I like buying jewellery here, as it is somewhat different to what you can buy elsewhere in town.  As much as I love this shop, you need to be careful.  They do stock items that can be bought at other establishments, at a much cheaper price – so keep this in mind when you think you have just got to have it!

 Chocolate Orange– another homewares store stocking a lot of the Rhubarb range and S&P.  Although we didn’t buy anything, I will be going back to purchase an interesting wall piece.  Mostly household items and not those of the “necessary” kind are what you will find.  In fact the shopping experience in this store was distracted by the never ending squeaky door – please dear god, oil the door!

Parap Fine Foods– whilst we didn’t go here today, I was here a couple of days ago looking for soy cheese.  No luck with  request, but did have a good look around.  Dream way of dying – being locked in this store overnight (by accident) and eating myself to death – what a way to go having tried everything possible!

My favourite food stall has now long gone and I am always a bit stuck for food, as once I have a favourite I am quite loyal for many, many years and I am always immensely disappointed when somewhere closes down or disappears – like the bakery at the RAAF gates!

Anyway, went to another favourite, the Malaysian roti and rendang stand and ordered a beef rendang roti with salad.  It looked as though there were new owners – not sure on this one and will start asking around.  I will say, that the roti was disgusting and nothing like I have had in the past.

 A dear friend of mine from Sydney came to visit prior to Christmas last year and wanted to check out the markets.  This was the best experience for me, as I was able to take someone who loves food as much as I.  We bought so much food and stuffed ourselves silly with so many things, that I just wouldn’t bother buying if on my own.  For me it was one of my favourite times of going to the market.  Funnily enough, we did the same thing the following day at Nightcliff and Rapid Creek.  My girlfriend couldn’t believe how close we lived to the markets and the convenience of getting great food all year round.

 Some further info on the markets follows:

 The Parap Village Market is one of Darwin ‘s longest running markets, and is considered by many as the ideal meeting place to meet or to have breakfast or a tasty snack together.This vibrant and colourful market place will enthrall you with its diverse food styles, arts and crafts and its busy but relaxed atmosphere.

Situated in the Parap Village Shopping Precinct off Parap Road , the market operates every Saturday of the year between 7.30 am – 1.30 pm .

Seating and on street parking is limited so be prepared for a walk and a good look around. Toilet facilities are available.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

